## **FSU Volleyball History**

Since its beginning in 1968 with a

FSU Volleyball History

> group of physical education students and a volunteer coach, Florida State volleyball, which is considered FSU's first women's intercollegiate sport, shed its club team roots to become one of the nation's premiere programs.

In its infancy, it was not uncommon for the group of aspiring athletes and teachers to pay their own way to tournaments and share warm-up suits with the other women's club teams. The club struggled to become established in those early years as team members were faced with having to find a new volunteer head coach each of the program's first five years.

After Florida State made its first ever appearance at the AIAW National Tournament in 1971, Dr. Billie Jones assumed the coaching duties on a permanent basis for the next six seasons. Under Jones' direction, the Seminoles amassed a record of 107-22, and volleyball at Florida State became a mainstay.

Success continued for the program as it returned to the AIAW National Tournament in 1973, '74 and '75, while competing for state and regional championships along the way. Popularity for the sport began to grow. In just a few short years, Florida State volleyball became recognized as one of the sport's up-and-coming programs.

Former head coach Dr. Cecile Reynaud, who served as head coach from 1976-2001, continued to build on the foundation laid by her predecessors. Under



Dr. Linda Warren, Dr. Judy Blucher, Dr. Billie Jones, Martha Pat Moore, Dr. Cecile Reynaud.



1968,FSU's first volleyball team



1998 ACC Champions

1981, Florida State joined the NCAA and began competing as a member of the Metro Conference in 1982.

Before FSU joined the Atlantic Coast Conference in 1992, the Seminoles dominated the Metro Conference, capturing six league titles. Florida State seized its first ACC Championship in

1998. Overall, in 11 years of ACC play, Florida State has an ACC regular season cochampionship to its credit and has played in five ACC Tournament title matches.

Since Florida State became a NCAA volleyball member in 1982, the Seminoles have qualified for the National Championship Tournament 11 times, including five times in the '90's.

Several of FSU's volleyball alumni have gone on to play professionally. Whether it be in Europe or the sandy shores of California, Florida State's top athletes often choose to continue playing the game they love. In recent years, three former FSU volleyball players have been on tour with the professional beach circuit.

Perhaps the most famous of the FSU volleyball alumni is worldclass model Gabrielle Reece. After enjoying a standout career at Florida State, Reece went on to captain Team Nike on the pro beach circuit. She has had a fitness column in ELLE Magazine and appeared on MTV Sports. Reece co-authored her first book Big Girl in the Middle and has been featured on Lifetime Television's Intimate Portrait.

In the 35 years since its inception, Florida State volleyball has prided itself in giving athletes the opportunity to reach their full potential both on the court and in the classroom. Pride, tradition and success are all part of what is known as Seminole volleyball.

Reynaud's guidance, FSU qualified for the AIAW National Tournament three more times. After its AIAW appearance in

NCAA CHAMPIONSHIPS								
YEAR	SITE	OPPONENT	SCORE					
1983	Tallahassee	Tennessee	15-12, 15-12, 1-15, 10-15, 8-15					
1985	Athens	Georgia	6-15, 1-15, 11-15					
1987	Austin	Texas	6-15, 11-15, 9-15					
1988	Tallahassee	Colorado St.	3-15, 5-15, 15-9, 7-15					
1989	Tallahassee	California	15-11, 11-15, 13-15, 13-15					
1990	Lexington	Kentucky	12-15, 10-15, 15-10, 10-15					
1992	Gainesville	Florida	9-15, 3-15, 10-15					
1993	Tallahassee	DePaul	15-8, 7-15, 15-10, 15-13					
	Tallahassee	Pacific	6-15, 17-15, 6-15, 9-15					
1997	Gainesville	South Florida	15-8, 4-15, 13-15,15-7, 9-15					
1998	Louisville, KY	Northern Illinois	15-10, 11-15, 10-15, 12-15					
2002	Gainesville	South Florida	21-30, 19-30, 28-30					

## **FSU VOLLEYBALL COACHES**

1968	Martha Pat Moore
1969	Dr. Judy Blucher
1970	Dr. Billie Jones
1971	Dr. Linda Warren
1972-75	Dr. Billie Jones (107-22)
1976-2001	Dr. Cecile Reynaud (635-326)
2002-present	

## **AIAW CHAMPIONSHIPS**

FSU Volleyball History



Conference Tournament History							
CONF.	YEAR	SITE	HOST	FINISH			
METRO	1982	Tallahassee, FL	Florida State	3rd Place			
METRO	1983	Louisville, KY	Louisville	Champions			
METRO	1984	Columbia, SC	South Carolina	3rd Place			
METRO	1985	Hattiesburg, MS	Southern Miss	Champions			
METRO	1986	Blacksburg, VA	Virginia Tech	Champions			
METRO	1987	Memphis, TN	Memphis State	Champions			
METRO	1988	Cincinnati, OH	Cincinnati	Champions			
METRO	1989	Tallahassee, FL	Florida State	Champions			
METRO	1990	Louisville, KY	Louisville	3rd Place			
ACC	1991	Charlottesville, VA	Virginia	3rd Place			
ACC	1992	College Park, MD	Maryland	Runner-up			
ACC	1993	Durham, NC	Duke	Runner-up			
ACC	1994	Chapel Hill, NC	North Carolina	3rd Place			
ACC	1995	Clemson, SC	Clemson	3rd Place			
ACC	1996	Atlanta, GA	Georgia Tech	5th Place			
ACC	1997	Raleigh, NC	NC State	3rd Place			
ACC	1998	College Park, MD	Maryland	Champions			
ACC	1999	Orlando, FL	ACC	9th Place			
ACC	2000	Winston Salem, NC	Wake Forest	5th Place			
ACC	2001	Tallahassee, FL	Florida State	Runner-up			
ACC	2002	Atlanta, GA	Georgia Tech	Runner-up			

## 1.6