From the Miami Herald March 29, 1970 Page 102

# Mahood Takes Title; Florida Wins UM Golf

Four years ago, as a University of Florida freshman, Ron Mahood entered his first University of Miami Invitational golf tournament.

"I don't remember what I shot that year," Mahood said. "But I do remember that it was bad — real bad. Almost embarrassing."

Mahood wasn't embarrassed Saturday. In his fourth try, he captured the individual championship in the UM Invitational with a 289 total.

MAHOOD'S one-over-par 72 Saturday in the final round at Biltmore Golf Course was good enough to edge Miami's Tony Haderer who had a 290 total. Haderer shot a 72 Saturday.

Andy North and Stacy Ruseell' both of Florida, tied for third at 292. Russell, the third round leader, soared to a 78 Saturday and North fired a 74.

Mahood's round was anything but consistent. He had seven bogeys, six birdies and five pars. "I was doing a lot of overhitting," Mahood explained.

WITH THREE of the top four players, the Gators also won the team title. Florida

went into the final round trailing Florida State by three strokes, but the Gators were seven strokes better than the Seminoles at the end of the day.

Florida had a 1,167 team total — well below the tournament record of 1,146 set last year — and FSU had a 1,174 total. Jacksonville (1,202) was third and host Miami (1,203) took fourth.

#### FINAL INDIVIDUAL RESULTS Ron Mahood, Florida 289 290 292 Tony Harderer, Miami Stacy Russell, Florida Andy North, Florida 292 Kurt Cox, Trinity 294 John Calabria, FSU 294 Mark Alwin, FSU 294 Jim Barber, FSU 297 Roger Osterling, Jacksonville 298 Bobby Huber, FSU 209 David Smith, So. Miss. 300 Lee Smith, Jacksonville 301 Jim Keedy, FSU 301 Mike Cheek, FSU 302 Max Castro, Miami 303 Bob McKenty, South Fla. John Ruby, FSU 304 304 Doug Nunn, Vanderbilt 304 John Govern, Hamilton 304 Lee Harper, Alabama 305 Doug Kelly, Miami 305 Randy Erskine, Mich. 305 Jerry Rhinehart, West Fia. 305 Joe Mericka, South Fla. 305 Rich Langille, Stetson 305 Jim Alexander, Tenn. Tech. 205

# BETA DIVISION

DELA DIAISION	
Ted Meier, Miami-Dade North	295
Ed Chariton, Brevard	295
Gary Baker, Miami-Dade South	299
Bill Zimmer, Brevard	300
K. Hummel, Miami-Dade North	300
M. St. Martin, Indian River	301
Bob Fairchild, Miami-Dade North	301
John Melnick, Indian River	302
Mike Husby, Paim Beach	305
	1.1.1

### FINAL TEAM TOTALS

University of Florida	1167
Florida State University	
Fidilide Sidle University	1174
Jacksonville University	1202
University of Miami	1203
University of Michigan	
Guiverany of Michigan	1218
University of South Florida	1219
University of So. Mississippi	1228
University of Alabama	
Conversity of Alebaine	1229
Georgia Tech.	1231
Tennessee Tech,	1237
Northern Illinois University	
Stetson	1239
	1239
University of Tampa	1241
Appalachian State University	
Elevida Southern Collins	1243
Florida Southern College	1246
Kent State University	1249
Georgetown University	1255
New Haven College	
Hew Haven College	1257
West Virginia	1259
	1847

## BETA DIVISION

	W 18
Miami-Dade North Brevard Junior College	1204
University of "Piami (B) Florida State	1/223
Indian River Jr. College Miami-Dade South	1245
Illinois State	1268
Palm Beach Jr. College	1271 1296