## From the Tallahassee Democrat May 12, 1979 Page 26

### Amateur Tennis

Metro

Friday's results Number One Singles: First Round — Jose Neto (FSU) d. Karl Ingard (T) 6-3, 6-2; Jim Milley (VT) d. Roger Webb (MSU) 1-6, 6-2, 6-3; Marco Molinari (SLU) d. Mark Alvarez (L) 7-6, 6-2; Bob Kronauge (C) bye.

Second Round — Jose Neto (FSU) d. Jim Milley (VT) 7-5, 6-2; Bob Kronauge (C) d. Marco Molinari (SLU) 4-6, 6-4.

Number Two Singles: First Round — Jim Wingo (VT) d. John O'Bryan (L) 6-2, 6-3; John Meirlisena (C) d. Mario Barretto (SLU) 6-1, 6-3; Ian Berson (MSU) d. Ali Kahn (FSU) 6-3, 6-2; Kevin Richardson (T) bye.

Second Round — John Mirsena (C) d. Jim Wingo (VT) 6-3, 6-4; Ian Berson (MSU) d. Kevin Richardson (T) 6-2, 6-2.

Number Three Singles: First Round — Tom Lehman (T) d. Lee Blount (SLU) 6-3, 6-3; Bob McIntosh (VT) d. Andy Porter (C); Alan Bellamy (FSU) d. Scott Pachter (L) 6-0, 6-2; Cliff Jones (MSU) bye.

Second Round — Bob McIntosh (VT) d. Tom Lehman (T) 3-6, 6-4, 6-4; Alan Bellamy (FSU) d. Cliff Jones (MSU) 6-3, 6-3. Number Four Singles: First Round —

Bill Hamilton (VT) d. Steve Lesko (SLU) 7-6. 6-2; Brad Berman (C) d. Wayne Pullak

(L) 6-2, 7-6; Steve Mansour (MSU) d. Larry Richmond (T) 6-3, 6-2; Scott Gilmore (FSU) bye.

Second Round — Steve Mansour (MSU) d. Scott Gilmore (FSU) 6-4, 6-2; Bill Hamilton (VT) d. Brad Berman (UC) 6-2, 6-1.

Number Five Singles: First Round — Peter Simpson (MSU) d. Ken Putlak (L) 6-3, 6-3; Jim Hendrix (T) d. Gary Samuels (UC) 6-4, 6-3; Peter Prinos (FSU) d. Phil Strueter (SLU); Ron Paquette (VT) bye.

Second Round — Peter Simpson (MSU) d. Pete Prinos (FSU) 7-5, 6-3; Ron Paquette (VT) d. Jim Hendrix (T) 6-4, 6-3.

Number Six Singles: First Round — Dean Channell (VT) d. Wes Owens (T) 6-4, 6-2; Steve Kohls (MSU) d. Mark Burchett (FSU) 6-1, 6-7, 6-3; Keith Begley (MSU) d. Mike Schlafley (SLU) 6-1, 6-2; Akim Anastopoulo (L) bye.

Second Round — Dean Channell (VT) d. Steve Kohls (C) 6-4, 6-2; Keith Begley (MSU) d. Akim Anastopoulo (L) 6-1, 6-4.

Number One Doubles: First Round — Neto-Bellamy (FSU9 d. Alvarez-Putlak (L) 6-4, 6-4; Milley-Wingo (VT) d. Kronage-Mirlisena (C) 7-6, 6-3; Webb-Mansour (MSU) d. Ingard-Dunay (T) 7-5, 6-2; Molinari-Lesko (SLU) bye.

Second Round — Neto-Bellamy (FSU) d. Milley-Wingo (VT) 7-5, 6-4; Webb-Monsour (MSU) d. Molinari-Lesko (SLU) 6-1, 6-1. Number Two Doubles: First Round — Richardson-Hendrix (T) d. Berman-Kohis (C) 7-5, 6-1; Berson-Simoson (MSU) d. McIntosh-Paquette (VT) 6-3, 7-6; Khan-Gilmore (FSU) d. Barretto-Schlaftv (SLU) 7-5, 6-2; O'Bryan-Ruttak (L) bye.

Second Round — Berson-Simpson (MSU) d. Richardson-Hendrix (T) 6-3, 6-7. 8-2; Khan-Gilmore (FSU) d. O'Brvan-Rutlak (L) 6-4, 6-3.

Humber Three Doubles: First Round — Jones-Begley (MSU) d. Porter-Samuels (C) 6-4, 6-4; Prinos-Golin (FSU) d. Channell-Hamilton (VT) 6-4, 4-6, 7-5 (S-4); Richmond-Lehman (T) d. Anastopoulo-Pachter (L) 7-6 (S-4), 7-6 (S-2); Blount-Bruin (SLU) bye. Team Scores (after semi-finals): Memphis State 29 Virginia Tech 22

Florida State 21 Cincinnati 13 Tulane 10 St. Louis 3 Louis 3

From the Tallahassee Democrat May 13, 1979 Page 51

# Memphis St. takes tennis crown again

#### By BARRY COOPER Democrat sports writer

Nonchalant Memphis State breezed to its fourth straight Metro Conference tennis championship Saturday, easily outdistancing surprise runnerup Virginia Tech.

Memphis State (22-2) finished the tourney with 40 points, followed by Virginia Tech with 33.

Florida State was third with 27 and Cincinnati was fourth with 20.

Tulane scored 13 points to finish fifth, Louisville had seven for sixth, and St. Louis finished seventh with four points. Memphis State led from the start of the two-day tournament, and wrapped up the event in a businesslike manner. As soon as the doubles competition was over, Memphis State climbed into its van and headed for Memphis. It didn't bother to stick around for an 8 p.m. awards ceremony.

Cincinnati's Bob Kronauge slipped past Florida State's Jose Neto 7-6, 7-6 to win the No. 1 singles title. He was later voted the tournament's Outstanding Tennis Player.

Last year, Kronauge lost to Memphis State's Mel Purcell in the finals of the number one singles.

"The night before, I had found out that I was going to the NCAAS," Kronauge said of the loss to Purcell. "It took away from my play. This year I hadn't heard, and I put more into it, hoping to look good for a NCAA bid."

## Amateur Tennis

#### Metro

Results of Saturday's Metro championships at the Tully Gym courts. Singles Finals

Number-One — Bob Kronauge (Cincinnafi) defeated Jose Neto (FSU) 7-6, 7-4. Number-two — Ian Berson (Memphis

State) defeated John Mirlisena (C) 6-1, 5-7, 6-5

Number-three — Alan Bellamy (Fiorida State) defeated Bob McIntosh (VT) 6-3, 7-6 Number-four — Steve Mansour (Memphis State) defeated Bill Hamilton (VT) 6-0,

6-1 Number-five — Ron Paquette (Virginia Tech) defeated Peter Simpson (MS) 7-5, 7-5

Number-six — Dean Channell (Virginia Tech) defeated Kelth Beglev (MS) 1-6, 6-4, 6-4

#### **Doubles Championships**

Number-one — Jose Neto and Allan Beilamy (FSU) defeated Roger Webb and Stephen Mansour (MS) 6-1, 3-6, 6-4

Number-two — Ian Berson and Peter Simpson (MSU) defeated Baber-All Kahn and Scott Gilmore (FSU) 6-4, 7-6

Number-three — Clif Jones and Keith Begley (MSU) defeated Larry Richmond and Tom Lehman (TU) 6-7, 6-3, 6-2