From the Tallahassee Democrat December 2, 1978 Page 20

FSU leading swim meet

Special to The Democrat

LINCOLN, Neb. — The Florida State Lady Seminoles, setting three meet records, bolted into the lead Friday halfway through the University of Nebraska Invitational Swimming Meet with 392 points.

Big 10 runner-up Wisconsin was second with 331 points and Big Eight champion Kansas was third with 312.

Twin sisters Terri and Kathi Miller set meet records and did the 200-yard medley relay team of Kim Avrill, Lisa Nencioni, Sally Davis and Jeanne Dowdle.

The Miller twins also swam on the 400 freestyle relay team with Dowdle and Kim Dunlop to qualifying for the nationals in the time of 4:36.57.

Terri Miller won the 200 IM in 2:10.42 to also set a Florida State school record for the event, while sister Kathi won the 200 fly in 2:10.7.

Host Nebraska was in fourth place, followed by Minnesota, Iowa State, Arkansas, Iowa and Oklahoma State.

The 19-event meet winds up today.

From the Tallahassee Democrat December 3, 1978 Page 63

FSU women win swim meet

LINCOLN, Neb. — The Florida State Lady Seminoles wrapped up a stunning swimming victory Saturdayby splashing their way to the Nebraska Invitational Swimming championship by scoring 799 points.

Wisconsin, Big 10 Conference runnerup a year ago, finished second with 688 points, followed by Big Eight Conference champion Kansas with 651 points.

"Super victory," said Coach Terry Maul. "The biggest victory in Florida State women's swimming history."

For the second day in a row, twin sisters Kathi and Terri Miller and Lisa Nencioni paced the Lady Seminoles as the three once again figured in either school, meet or pool records.

The three were joined by Jeanne Dowdle in winning the 400-yard medley relay in the meet and pool record time of 4:04.24.

Terri won the 400 IM in 4:33.39 to set a pool, meet and school record, while sister Kathi won the 100 butterfly in the meet record time of 59.05.

Nencioni won the 200 breaststroke in meet record time of 2:26.25.

Finishing behind the top three teams were Nebraska (503), Minnesota (399), Iowa State (309), Arkansas (100), Iowa (79) and Oklahoma State (29).