From the Orlando Sentinel April 28, 1978 Page 54

## Florida Women's Championships At Gainesville 1. Miami (M) 11; 2. Rollins (R) 10; 3. Florida (F) 9; 4. South Florida (SF) 3; 5. Florida State (FSU) Division A Singles Hutnick (R) d. Hanrahan (SF) 6-3, 6-2; Pressley (F) d. Morois (R) 6-3, 6-2; Division B Singles Portman (F) d. Neviaser (R) 6-3, 6-2; Kruk (R) d. J. Acker (F) 5-7, 6-3, 6-4. Division C Singles Pelliter (R) d. Cook (SF) 6-1, 6-2; Pelliter (R) d. Schweb (F) 3-6, 7-5, 6-4; Smisson (R) d. Gratton (F) 6-1, 6-1 Doubles Krud-Marois (R) d. ApplebaumSands (M) 7-5, 6-1; Smisson-Pellitier (R) d. Gandifo-Cook (FSU) 6-7, 6-2, 6-2. Hutnick-Neviase (R) bye.

From the Tampa Tribune April 29, 1978 Page 28

## From Tribune Wires

Rollins College held a slim 1-point advantage over heavily-favored University of Florida going into today's final round of the FAIAW State Women's tennis tournament at the Gators' courts in Gainesville.

The Tars lead with 16 points, followed by Florida (15), Miami (12), South Florida (2) and Florida State (1).

Rollins and Florida meet one another in two finals, while two Gators are in another and a Miami and Rollins player in the other.

In the "A" division singles, secondseeded Julie Pressly and third-seeded Sherry Acker face each other in a all-Florida finale. UF's Joyce Portman and Rollins' Kelly Kruk play in the "B" division, and UM's Kim Sands and Mary Lynn Smisson of Rollins vie in the "C" division.

In the doubles finals, Sherry and Judy Acker of UF tackle Nancy Neviaser and Felicia Hutnick.

From the Tampa Tribune April 30, 1978 Page 52

## Acker Lead Gators

Sophomore Sherry Acker won the singles and doubles titles Saturday at the Florida Women's Collegiate tennis championhsips in Gainesville.

Acker beat freshman teammate Julie Pressly of Palm Beach, 6-2, 4-6, 6-4, in the singles and teammed up with her sister, Judy Acker, to beat the Rollins team of Felicia Hutnick and Nancy Neviaser, 6-3, 3-6, 6-3.

Florida and Rollins tied for the team championship at 17 points, Miami had 12, South Florida had 2 and Florida State finished with 1.