Sod Cemetery History

YEAR	OPPONENT	SCORE	SITE
1962	Georgia	18- 0	Sanford Stadium
	Georgia Tech	14-14	Grant Field
	Auburn	14-14	Cliff Hare Stadium
1963	Miami	24- 0	Orange Bowl
1964	Georgia	17-14	Sanford Stadium
	Texas Christian	10- 0	Amon G. Carter Stadium
	Miami	14- 0	Orange Bowl
1965	Oklahoma	36-19	Gator Bowl
1966	Miami	23-20	Orange Bowl
	Texas Tech	42-33	Jones Stadium
	South Carolina	32-10	Carolina Stadium
1967	Alabama	37-37	Legion Field
	Memphis State	27- 7	Memphis Memorial Stadium
	Texas A&M	19-18	Kyle Field
	Florida	21-16	FÍorida Field
	Penn State	17-17	Gator Bowl
1968	NC State	48- 7	Carter Stadium
	South Carolina	35-28	Carolina Stadium
	Houston	40-20	Gator Bowl
1969	Miami	19-14	Orange Bowl
	Virginia Tech	10-10	Lane Stadium
1970	South Carolina	21-13	Carolina Stadium
	Miami	27- 3	Orange Bowl
1976	Boston College	28- 9	
	North Texas State	21-20	Fouts Field
1977	Oklahoma State	25-17	Lewis Field
	Florida	34- 9	Florida Field
	Texas Tech	40-17	Tangerine Bowl
1978	Syracuse	28- 0	Archbold Stadium
1979	Árizona State	31- 3	Sun Devil Stadium
	Louisiana State	24-19	Tiger Stadium
	Florida	27-16	Florida Field
1980	Louisiana State	16- 0	Tiger Stadium
	Nebraska	18-14	Memorial Stadium
1981	Ohio State	36-27	Ohio Stadium
	Notre Dame	19-13	Notre Dame Stadium
1982	Miami	24- 7	Orange Bowl
	Ohio State	34-17	Ohio Stadium
	West Virginia	31-12	Gator Bowl
	<i>J</i>		

The Sod Cemetery

In 1962, the team captains of the Seminole football team returned to Tallahassee with a piece of sod from Sanford Stadium as a trophy from the team's 18-0 victory over the University of Georgia. The turf was presented to Dean Coyle E. Moore, who founded the continuing tradition of the sod game.

The sod cemetery began when that first piece of sod was buried in the corner of the Florida State practice field and a monument was placed to

commemorate the road victory.

In the early years, FSU only snipped grass when it won by upset on the road. But as the Seminoles became more successful, the criteria changed. Sod games still represent road games that the Tribe wins when they are significant underdogs, however, all bowl games are now considered sod games as well as landmark road wins no matter who is favored.

Each piece of sod is buried in the cemetery next to the practice field and a tombstone is placed above it with the score and date of the game.



971121	COLUMN TO SERVICE STATE OF THE PARTY OF THE	PERSONAL PROPERTY.	
1983		29-26	Sun Devil Stadium
	Louisiana State	40-35	Tiger Stadium
1004	North Carolina	28- 3	Atlanta Fulton Cty Stadium
1984	Miami	38- 3	Orange Bowl
	Arizona State	52-44	Sun Devil Stadium
	Georgia	17-17	Citrus Bowl
1985	Nebraska	17-13	Memorial Stadium
	Oklahoma State	34-23	Gator Bowl
1986		27-13	Legion Field
1987		31- 3	Spartan Stadium
	Auburn	34- 6	Jordan-Hare Stadium
	Florida	28-13	Florida Field
	Nebraska	31-28	Sun Devil Stadium
1988		24-21	Clemson Memorial Stadium
	Auburn	13- 7	Louisiana Superdome
1989		24-17	Ben Hill Griffin Stadium
	Nebraska	41-17	Sun Devil Stadium
1990		24-17	Joe Robbie Stadium
1991	Michigan	51-31	Michigan Stadium
	Texas A&M	10- 2	Cotton Bowl
1992	Clemson	24-20	Clemson Memorial Stadium
	Georgia Tech	29-24	Bobby Dodd Stadium/
		07.4.4	Grant Field
1003	Nebraska	27-14	Orange Bowl
1993		33-21	Ben Hill Griffin Stadium
1004	Nebraska	18-16	Orange Bowl
1994		23-16	Citrus Bowl
1005	Florida	23-17	Louisiana Superdome
1995		31-26	Orange Bowl
1997		20- 3	Kenan Stadium
1999	Ohio State	31-14	Sugar Bowl Ben Hill Griffin Stadium
1999		30-23	
2001	Virginia Tech	46-29	Sugar Bowl
2001	Virginia Tech Florida	30-17	Gator Bowl Ben Hill Griffin Stadium
2003		38-34	Gator Bowl
2004 2005	West Virginia	30-18 28-17	Alumni Stadium
2003	Boston College	28-17 27-22	Alltel Stadium
	Virginia Tech	21-22	
2006	Miami	13-10	(ACC Championship) Orange Bowl
2000	UCLA	44-27	Emerald Bowl
	UCLA	44-2/	LITIEI AIU DUWI